How long am I required to pay child support?
In New York State, parents may be required to make child support payments if they are ordered to do so by the court. Often, the parent who spends less time with the child will be the one who has to make the child support payments. New York State requires that the noncustodial parent pays a certain percentage of the gross combined income of both parents for child support. So, one child gets 17 percent, two children get 25 percent, three children get 29 percent, four children get 31 percent, and five or more children get at least 35 percent or the parents’ combined income.
One of the questions that the noncustodial parent often has is in regards to when the child support obligation ends and they no longer have to make payments. In New York State, parents are obligated to pay child support until the child turns 21 years old or the court determines that they are emancipated before them. However, sometimes, parents are obligated to make child support payments until after the child has graduated from college. That being said, if a parent truly believes their child is emancipated and no longer requires such support, they can submit a request to the court to declare the child financially independent. If the court believes the child is emancipated, the support obligation may be terminated.
The Law Office of Peter L. Jameson, PLLC is an experienced divorce and family law firm located in New City, NY. Contact our firm today to discuss your legal matter and get the quality legal representation you deserve.